The New Adventures of Pippi Longstocking (the Movie)

This past weekend the entire family watched The New Adventures of Pippi Longstocking.  It happened to be available for Amazon Prime or whatever their movie streaming service is called.

pippimovie

The kids LOVED it and were bouncing off the walls singing the theme song after the movie was over and asking when we could watch it again.

The husband groaned through the whole thing but I think I heard a giggle or a snort or two.

At first I didn’t like it.  Pippi drives a motorcycle and seems to be able to fly.  Then I started wondering why all the music sounded familiar since I don’t remember watching the movie before.  I must have watched it before and completely blocked it from my mind.  By the end I figured OK the books are basically a bunch of independent chapters, I guess to make a movie they had to find some way to connect all the chapters together into a movie plot and they did include parts of two of the three books… although I still don’t get the flying thing.

Other differences, in the movie Pippi’s horse is called Alfonso not just horse.  Mr Nilsson is pronounced Mr Nealson (I always thought it was Nill-son).  Kurrekurredutt is pronounced Kurrykurry I always wondered about that.  Also the “town” is called Rocksby, I don’t think it had a name in the books.

For a movie adaption of a book they didn’t do too bad of a job I guess.  I’ve seen worse.

I give the movie 3.5 out of 5 stars.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Pippi Goes on Board | Trapped In My Bookcase

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 421 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

